On this date: The debut of “Dansville Turns 200” appears in Genesee Country Express


March 19, 1992

“Dansville Turns 200” was a weekly newspaper column that ran in the Genesee Country Express from March 19, 1992 to January 28, 1996. In 201 installments, each representing one calendar year, the history of Dansville, New York was told, from its earliest white settlement to the celebration of the village bicentennial. Included in each article was a summary of the major events of the world, the nation, and the region for the year being covered, to try to give some perspective to what kind of world surrounded Dansville at the time. This project was the end result of many hundreds of hours of research, spread out over several years; and I received plenty of help. Among those to whom I owe thanks: Richard Eades, the high school teacher whose local history course set me on this path; the late historian Wilfred J. Rauber, who was of tremendous help to me during my initial researches in the mid-1980’s; Teresa Canuti and the other employees at the Dansville Public Library, for their helpfulness in my endeavors there; and for the editors of the Genesee Country Express, for allowing me access to their back issues, and, of course, for publishing my column. And many thanks to all who provided encouragement and compliments on what was, from beginning to end, a labor of love.

David Gilbert

6 thoughts on “On this date: The debut of “Dansville Turns 200” appears in Genesee Country Express

  1. Great research; is there any way I could have access to that newspaper, as I have great grandparents, Charles & Mary Woolever and great great grandparents Fritz & Sophia Durr, who were residents of Dansville,NY

    • All I found for Woolever was two references. One from 1879 and the other in 1928

      Also in 1879, the Hamilton & Parmelee drug store was purchased by a newcomer to town, Mount Morris native Charles W. Woolever.

      1928: And former drug store owner Charles Woolever, 79, passed away on March 1.

      Chad L. Schuster

      • Thanks, yes that is my great grandfather Charles W. Woolever. I believe he was the pharmacist for many years and died soon after his retirement

  2. I would suggest that you visit: http://www.fultonhistory.com in your search for information. In a very simple search for Charles Woolever, several articles appeared. Not all of them are relevant, but one of them included an obituary for Mary Durr Woolever, who passed away on February 14, 1941. Another included an obituary for a Charles Woolever, formerly of Dansville, who passed away in Denver, Co on March 5, 1915. And, another mentions the former Woolever Pharmacy located in the K of C Building in Dansville. The site takes a bit of getting used to, but it contains a treasure trove of information. The files are in PDF format, and downloadable–I would suggest downloading each file, and then performing a search on your computer–whenever I locate a file on the site and search it on the website, the site tends to freeze up. Best of luck in your search.

    • Hi David,
      Very well stated. Yes, I do you Fulton for my research and suggest that others do so as well. I have even shared it with Mary Ellen in the past. I certainly could have been more thorough in my previous reply by stating that all I found in the series of “Dansville turns 200” were the references from 1879 and 1928.

    • Thanks for your info re: that site; I have spent considerable time on the Futon site (found a great article and picture of 2 times grandfather Frederick (Fritz) Durr who was a merchant tailor; Yes, that is my great grandfather Charles Woolever, and Mary Durr Woolever. Thanks for your advice and time. Mary Ellen Davies Rock

Leave a Reply

